Painting in Paradise

The covered patio of Riverview Lodge will be our studio for our workshop!

The covered patio of Riverview Lodge will be our studio for our workshop!

The sandy white beach right in front of Riverview Lodge

The sandy white beach right in front of Riverview Lodge

Each cabin has a deck overlooking the river in the back, and front towards the beach!

Each cabin has a deck overlooking the river in the back, and front towards the beach!

The view from Riverview Lodge early evening!

The view from Riverview Lodge early evening!

Early morning light on the river mouth on Tioman Island.

Early morning light on the river mouth on Tioman Island.

The Riverview cabins on the shore of the river

The Riverview cabins on the shore of the river

In 2009 I went on a quest – fulfilling some long-held dreams of roaming the world – finding hidden gems in off-the-beaten-path places. By coincidence I came across a small, tropical island in the South China Sea. Tioman Island. – A couple of young Norwegian divers I met on a dive and snorkel trip off the northwest coast of Bali told me about Tioman. They told me of a beautiful little fishing village called Juara which I would find on the remote East side of Tioman Island. Their description of this isolated little village immediately sparked my interest. After a bit of research I found myself traversing the jungle-covered interior of Tioman by jeep. Actually two jeeps, because the road had washed out, and I had to walk along a muddy path for about 1/4 mile to catch the next jeep, which took me down to the beautiful Juara bay.
It took my breath away when the jungle gave way to sweeping views of a long sandy beach and turquoise blue water. I knew I had found a very, very special place. After spending 5 days in this paradise I vowed to come back and teach a watercolor workshop here. Now 5 years later, I’m finally ready to make it reality!
April 17 – 24, 2015 I’m teaching “Painting in Paradise – Watercolor – Beyond the Ordinary” on Tioman Island in the fishing village of Juara. Stay tuned if you want to join me!

The view from the jungle river towards the Riverview Cabins

The view from the jungle river towards the Riverview Cabins


Leave a Reply

